Dossiers

Âge d'Or

Âge d'Or History

#agedor

The avant-garde legacy of Jacques Ledoux

L'Âge d'Or was created by Jacques Ledoux, founder of the Film Museum. L'Âge d'Or is the name of the surrealist feature film by Luis Buñuel from 1930. For Ledoux, this was the pre-eminent example of a film in which innovative language makes the subversiveness of the content even more pungent.

 © Bea Borgers


The Âge d'Or prize was first awarded in 1958, as part of EXPRMNTL, the Competition for Experimental Film in Knokke-het-Zoute. At the first edition of this exceptional festival, the prize was awarded to Kenneth Anger.

The event thus had both an aesthetic and a philosophical vocation. With regard to the pedantic film style, which became very popular after May '68, Ledoux believed that 'a neglected, academic and conventional style could not but negate, itself betray, a revolutionary and subversive content.' garde framework are the core values ​​of Âge d'Or.


Film prize

In 1973, the Âge dOr prize is reimagined. The prize was to be awarded by a Belgian jury to a feature film as part of a public program presented at the Film Museum.

The concept would change several times over the years. In the current text, which is the result of a lot of animated discussions between Jacques Ledoux and René Micha, long chairman of the jury of the Âge d'Or prize, the words 'revolutionary' and 'poetic' give way to 'originality'.

The Âge d'Or prize is awarded to a film which, due to the particularity of its design and its writing, departs from the broad cinematographic paths. It remains, of course, a tribute to the renowned oeuvre of Luis Buñuel and is a reflection of the parallel evolutions of mentality and cinema.

(Jury Äge d'Or)

Held annually at CINEMATEK, the film festival continued to include thematic retrospectives, screenings, debates and screenings of film restorations, with the aim of highlighting films produced over the past two years. The festival presented a daring film program that sought to deconstruct and critique conformism in both cinema and society. The festival chose not to distinguish between genres in the various sections, nor to limit itself to a specific format. The visitor could enjoy unique and special screenings where artists regularly came to present their own film.

The list of achievements not only provides a good overview of the winners of the Âge d'Or prize, but it also reflects the continuous development of the concept. As a contemporary and progressive film festival that always wanted to reinvent itself so as not to become mainstream or traditional, new angles were regularly devised. The titles are cataloged from 1973 and five years later the Film Finds are created, this category includes existing films that fully fit the spirit of Âge d'Or and that, according to the jury, deserve fame, but do not participate in the competition. In 2004 it was decided to award a prize for this category as well, and from 2010 there will be an official public award. No competition took place in 1995 and 2001.


Curious about who won the prize?

Below an excerpt from the palmares of Âge d'Or (until 2004)

1973
WR: Misterije Organizma, Dusan Makavejev Yugoslavia
1974
Les Contes Immoraux, Walerian Borowczyk France
1975
L’expropiacion, Raul Ruiz Chili
1976
O Thiassos, Theo Angelopoulos Greece
1977
Seishun No Satsujinsha, Kazuhiko Hasegawa Japan
1978
Shirley Temple Story, Antoni Padros Spain
1979
1980
Sauve qui peut (la vie), Jean-Luc Godard France-Switzerland
1981
Caniche, Bigas Luna Spain
1982
Outside in, Steve Dwoskin UK
1983
Eisenhans, Tankred Dorst BRD
1984
Utopia, Sohrab Shahid Saless BRD
1985
Le Soulier De Satin, Manoel De Oliveira Portugal-France
1986
Diapason, Jorge Polaco Argentina
1987
Anjos De Arrabalde, Carlos Reichenbach Brazil
1988
1988
Os Canibais [The Cannibals], Manoel De Oliveira Portugal
1989
Neardeath, Frederick Wiseman USA
1990
Caidos Del Cielo [Fallen from Heaven], Francisco Lombardi Peru-Spain
1991
Edward Ii, Derek Jarman UK
1992
Sangatsu No Raion [March Comes In Like A Lion], Hitoshi Yazaki Japan
1993
Kitchen, Yoshimitsu Morita Japan
1994
Satantango, Béla Tarr Hungary
1995
1996
A Comedia de Deus, João César Monteiro Portugal
1997
Witman Fiuk, Janos Szasz Hungary
1998
Xiao Wu, Jia Zhang Ke China
1999
Khroustaliov, Ma Voiture, Alexei Guerman Russia-France
2000
Eureka, Shinji Aoyama Japan
2001
2002
Japón, Carlos Reygadas Mexico
2003
Clément, Emmanuelle Bercot France
2004
Los Muertos, Lisandro Alonso Argentina-France

Under the hashtag #meetthefilmmakers, CINEMATEK introduces you to an ÂGE D'OR director in a fascinating way.
So be sure to check #agedor as well!

Dossiers

Âge d'Or

L'histoire de l' Âge d'OR

#agedor

L'héritage avant-gardiste de Jacques Ledoux

L'Âge d'Or a été créé par Jacques Ledoux, fondateur du Filmmuseum. L'Âge d'Or est le nom du long métrage surréaliste de Luis Buñuel de 1930. Pour Ledoux, c'était l'exemple par excellence d'un film où le langage novateur rend la subversivité du contenu encore plus piquante.

 © Bea Borgers

Le Prix Âge d'Or a été décerné pour la première fois en 1958, dans le cadre d'EXPRMNTL, la Compétition du Film Expérimental de Knokke-het-Zoute. Lors de la première édition de ce festival exceptionnel, le prix a été décerné à Kenneth Anger.

L'événement avait donc une vocation à la fois esthétique et philosophique. En ce qui concerne le style de film pédant, qui est devenu très populaire après mai 68, Ledoux pensait qu '`` un style négligé, académique et conventionnel ne pouvait que nier, lui-même trahir, un contenu révolutionnaire et subversif' '. de l'Âge d'Or.


Prix de Films

En 1973, le Prix Age d'Or prend une nouvelle forme. Le prix devait être décerné par un jury belge à un long métrage dans le cadre d'un programme public présenté au Musée du Film.

Le concept allait changer radicalement plusieurs fois au fil des ans. Dans le texte actuel, fruit de nombreuses discussions animées entre Jacques Ledoux et René Micha, longtemps président du jury du prix de l'Âge d'Or, les mots "révolutionnaire" et "poétique" laissent place à "originalité" .

"Le prix de l'Âge d'Or récompense un film qui, par la particularité de son montage et de son écriture, s'écarte des grandes voies cinématographiques. Il reste, bien sûr, un hommage à l'œuvre renommée de Luis Buñuel et est le reflet des évolutions parallèles de la mentalité et du cinéma."

(Jury Äge d'Or)

Organisé chaque année au CINEMATEK, le festival du film a continué d'inclure des rétrospectives thématiques, des projections, des débats et des projections de restaurations de films, dans le but de mettre en lumière les films produits au cours des deux dernières années. Le festival a présenté un programme de films audacieux qui cherchait à déconstruire et à critiquer le conformisme dans le cinéma et la société. Le festival a choisi de ne pas distinguer les genres dans les différentes sections, ni de se limiter à un format spécifique. Le visiteur a pu profiter de projections uniques et spéciales où des artistes venaient régulièrement présenter leur propre film.

Le palmarès donne non seulement un bon aperçu des lauréats du prix Âge d'Or, mais il reflète également l'évolution continue du concept. Festival de cinéma contemporain et progressiste soucieux de se réinventer sans cesse pour ne pas devenir mainstream ou fidèle à la tradition, de nouvelles perspectives sont régulièrement imaginées. Les titres sont catalogués à partir de 1973 et cinq ans plus tard sont créés les Film Finds, cette catégorie comprend les films existants qui correspondent pleinement à l'esprit d'Âge d'Or et qui, selon le jury, méritent la renommée, mais ne participent pas à la compétition. En 2004, il a été décidé d'attribuer un prix pour cette catégorie également et à partir de 2010, il y aura un prix public officiel. Aucune compétition n'a eu lieu en 1995 et 2001.


Curieux de savoir qui a remporté le prix?

Ci-dessous un extrait du palmarès de l'Âge d'Or (jusqu'en 2004)

1973
WR: Misterije Organizma, Dusan Makavejev Yugoslavia
1974
Les Contes Immoraux, Walerian Borowczyk France
1975
L’expropiacion, Raul Ruiz Chili
1976
O Thiassos, Theo Angelopoulos Greece
1977
Seishun No Satsujinsha, Kazuhiko Hasegawa Japan
1978
Shirley Temple Story, Antoni Padros Spain
1979
1980
Sauve qui peut (la vie), Jean-Luc Godard France-Switzerland
1981
Caniche, Bigas Luna Spain
1982
Outside in, Steve Dwoskin UK
1983
Eisenhans, Tankred Dorst BRD
1984
Utopia, Sohrab Shahid Saless BRD
1985
Le Soulier De Satin, Manoel De Oliveira Portugal-France
1986
Diapason, Jorge Polaco Argentina
1987
Anjos De Arrabalde, Carlos Reichenbach Brazil
1988
1988
Os Canibais [The Cannibals], Manoel De Oliveira Portugal
1989
Neardeath, Frederick Wiseman USA
1990
Caidos Del Cielo [Fallen from Heaven], Francisco Lombardi Peru-Spain
1991
Edward Ii, Derek Jarman UK
1992
Sangatsu No Raion [March Comes In Like A Lion], Hitoshi Yazaki Japan
1993
Kitchen, Yoshimitsu Morita Japan
1994
Satantango, Béla Tarr Hungary
1995
1996
A Comedia de Deus, João César Monteiro Portugal
1997
Witman Fiuk, Janos Szasz Hungary
1998
Xiao Wu, Jia Zhang Ke China
1999
Khroustaliov, Ma Voiture, Alexei Guerman Russia-France
2000
Eureka, Shinji Aoyama Japan
2001
2002
Japón, Carlos Reygadas Mexico
2003
Clément, Emmanuelle Bercot France
2004
Los Muertos, Lisandro Alonso Argentina-France

Sous le hashtag #meetthefilmmakers, CINEMATEK vous présente un réalisateur d'ÂGE D'OR de manière fascinante.
Assurez-vous donc de vérifier également #agedor!