In addition to the film and film related collections, CINEMATEK also has a collection of important pre-cinema objects and cinematographic objects, such as magic lanterns and cameras. A part of this collection is shown in the Wunderkammer.


History of Film in 9 objects at CINEMATEK

11th Century

1. Camera obscura

With a camera obscura you can catch images from outside in a black box. Through one small opening in the box, the light enters on the opposite wall. Light always travels in a straight line, so the light rays cross in the small hole and the image is reversed on the wall. Light always travels in a straight line, so the light rays cross each other in the hole and the image is reversed on the wall. The principle is first mentioned in the 11th century and has been studied by several scientists in the following centuries. The camera obscura later becomes the main component of the still or film camera. A lens is placed in the opening and a photosensitive layer placed on the opposite wall.

1629 - 1695

2. The Magic Lantern

and the magic lantern slides

The magic lantern is an inverted camera obscura for projecting an image painted on glass onto a screen and is thus the first still image projector. The magic lantern was in use from the 18th century but became very popular in the 19th century. With the invention of photography, photographic slides were projected. A large part of the magic lanterns from our collection are displayed in the Wunderkammer. On the other hand, only a fraction of the images is shown. There are about 1200 magic lantern slides in the collection. This is very diverse ranging from toy lantern slides to professional slides used by lanternists.
(dating: 17th century, first description by Christian Huygens)

1825

3. The thaumatrope

This optical toy is a cardboard disc with on both sides a drawing that complement each other like the bird and the cage. When the disc is rotated quickly by means of the the strings on the ends then merge the two images into one image and the bird is in the cage. It shows very simplistically the after-effects of a visual observation, a scientific finding.
All thaumatropes from the collection can be seen in the Wunderkammer.

1832

4. The Phenakistiscope

In 1832, Joseph Plateau found the solution to reconstitute a movement that had been previously dissected. He drew 16 drawings on the edge of a round disc, each representing a phase of a movement, eg a dancer doing a pirouette. Slots were made between the drawings. The other side of the disc was black. Plateau turned the disc with the drawings facing a mirror. In this way he always saw a drawing through the groove, then black and then the next drawing. Due to the rapid succession of those different images with black (= shutter) in between, one gets a composition of previously dissected movement and that through the after-effects of a visual perception. The shutter is later crucial in the decomposition (camera) and composition (projector) of the movement.

In the Wunderkammer you will find some discs from our collection as well as a large model of the fenakistiscope.

1877

5. The Praxinoscope

In 1877 Emile Reynaud found another way with his praxinoscope to make a composition of a movement in which the image definition was better. The praxinoscope is a cylinder with a prism of mirrors in the middle, as many mirrors as there are drawings on the strip on the inside of the cylinder. When, when the cylinder is rotated, one mirror replaces another with the drawings reflected in it, one gets the composition of the movement. The common rib provides a break in the perception, a closure through optical compensation.

Optical compensation is still used in vision tables, with which films in the depot are verified before showing in our halls.

The large praxinoscope with the knife thrower is on display in the museum.

1893

6. Edison's Kinetoscope

and the 35mm film

Edison devised a transparent film with a sensitive layer for use in his kinetograph and in his kinetoscope. After many tests, it comes to a 35mm format with 4 perforations per image height on the sides. These are crucial for regular locomotion. The 35mm format was used almost unchanged until the switch to digital techniques. Edison's kinetoscope (1893) is a device in which a short film was in a continuous loop and could be viewed by 1 person through the viewing opening. It's not a projection. Halls with rows of kinetoscopes were opened in America and later in Europe.

In the museum a working Edison kinetoscope is on display.

1895

7. The Cinematograph by Lumière

The cinematographer was the perfect invention; the device is hardly bigger than a camera and could record as well as project. The Lumière brothers have found a perfect solution for the even propulsion of the pellicule, namely a rounded triangle that serves a central axis on which the grippers are located, which each time pull the pellicule an image height. On that central axis is also the shutter disk that shields the recording window while the pellicule is moving. The Lumières recorded at a rate of 16 frames per second. As one progresses in time, one will record faster from 18 frames to 24 frames per second. With the analog sound film, the speed is fixed at 24 frames per second. With digital film, the recording speed is no longer fixed.

The Wunderkammer contains an exact replica with a mechanism that shows the operation in detail.

The 1950's

8. Bauer 35 mm Projector

The Bauer B11 dates from the 1950s and is the Rolls Royce of projectors. It is the oldest projector in operation at CINEMATEK. It is still used to show films in the Plateau room. Some adjustments were made for the sound.

20e eeuw

9. Cameflex 35 mm

 ©Bea Borgers

With this Cameflex, Freddy Rents filmed the film "Déjà s'envole la fleur maigre" by Paul Meyer. The film was restored by CINEMATEK and released on DVD. The camera was donated to CINEMATEK by Marc Rents. The circle is complete.

CINEMATEK accepts donations of projectors and cameras for its collection.



Want to discover more film history?

Then definitely book a guided tour in our Wunderkammer for your family, your group of friends or your school.


Access to our OBJECT Collections

Start your Reserach into our object collection here

Cinematek Website 1

Access to our OBJECT Collections

Do you need to loan one of our objects for your museum or exhibition, please start here.

Cinematek Website 38

Access to our OBJECT Collections

Do you have a film object or camera that you would like to donate to our collections, please start here.

Cinematek website 168

En plus de la collection de films, CINEMATEK dispose également d'une collection d'objets dans laquelle tous les éléments liés à l'archéologie médiatique sont préservés, tels que les lanternes magiques avec leurs images, les phénakistiscopes, les caméras et les projecteurs. Une partie de cette collection est exposée dans notre Wunderkammer.


Histoire du film en 9 objets de CINEMATEK

11e siècle

1. Camera obscura

Avec une camera obscura, vous pouvez prendre des images de l'extérieur dans une boîte noire. La lumière entre dans la boîte par une petite ouverture sur le mur opposé. La lumière se déplace toujours en ligne droite. Les rayons lumineux se croisent donc dans le trou et l'image est inversée sur le mur. Le principe est mentionné. pour la première fois au 11e siècle et étudié par plusieurs scientifiques au cours des siècles suivants. La camera obscura est devenue par la suite le composant principal de l'appareil photographique ou de la caméra à film. Une lentille est insérée dans l'ouverture et une couche photosensible est placée sur la paroi opposée

1629 - 1695

2. La lanterne magique

et les diapositives de la lanterne magique

La lanterne magique est une camera obscura inversée permettant de projeter sur un écran une image peinte sur du verre et constitue ainsi le premier projecteur d'images fixes. La lanterne magique est utilisée à partir du 18e siècle mais devient très populaire au 19e siècle. Avec l'invention de la photographie, des diapositives photographiques ont été projetées. Une grande partie des lanternes magiques de notre collection est présentée dans la Wunderkammer. D'autre part, seule une fraction des diapositives est montrée. La collection compte environ 1200 diapositives de lanterne magique. Elles sont très diverses, allant des diapositives de jouets aux diapositives professionnelles utilisées par les lanternistes.
(datation : première description par Christian Huygens (1629-1695))

1825

3. Le thaumatrope

Ce jouet optique est un disque en carton avec de chaque côté un dessin qui se complète comme l'oiseau et la cage. Lorsque le disque est tourné rapidement à l'aide des ficelles situées aux extrémités, les deux images se fondent en une seule et l'oiseau se trouve dans la cage. Il montre de manière très simpliste les séquelles d'une observation visuelle, d'une découverte scientifique.
Tous les thaumatropes de la collection peuvent être vus dans la wunderkammer.

1832

4. Le phénakistiscope

En 1832, Joseph Plateau trouve la solution pour reconstituer un mouvement qui avait été disséqué auparavant. Il a dessiné 16 dessins sur le bord d'un disque rond, représentant chacun une phase d'un mouvement, par exemple un danseur faisant une pirouette. Des fentes ont été faites entre les dessins. L'autre face du disque était noire. Plateau a tourné le disque avec les dessins face à un miroir. De cette façon, il voyait toujours un dessin à travers le sillon, puis du noir et puis le dessin suivant. La succession rapide de ces différentes images avec du noir (= obturateur) entre les deux, on obtient une composition de mouvement préalablement disséqué et cela grâce à la séquelle d'une observation visuelle. L'obturateur est ensuite crucial dans la décomposition (caméra) et la composition (projecteur) du mouvement.

Dans le Wunderkammer vous trouverez quelques disques de notre collection ainsi qu'un grand modèle du phénakistiscope.

1877

5. Le praxinoscope

Emile Reynaud en 1877 avec son praxinoscope a trouvé un autre moyen de faire une composition d'un mouvement avec une meilleure définition de l'image. Le praxinoscope est un cylindre avec un prisme de miroirs au centre, autant de miroirs qu'il y a de dessins sur la bande à l'intérieur du cylindre. Lorsque, lors de la rotation du cylindre, un miroir remplace l'autre avec les dessins qui s'y reflètent, on obtient la composition du mouvement. La côte commune provoque une rupture de la perception, une fermeture par compensation optique.
La compensation optique est toujours utilisée dans les tables de vision, avec lesquelles les films du dépôt sont vérifiés pour le dépistage dans nos salles.

Le grand praxinoscope avec le lanceur de couteaux est visible dans le musée.

1893

6. Le kinétoscope

d'Edison et le film 35 mm

Edison a conçu un film transparent avec un revêtement sensible pour l'utiliser dans son kinétographe et son kinétoscope. Après de nombreux essais, il est arrivé à un format 35 mm avec quatre perforations par hauteur d'image sur chaque côté. Ceux-ci sont cruciaux pour le mouvement régulier du film. Le format 35 mm a été utilisé presque sans changement jusqu'au passage aux techniques numériques. Le kinétoscope d'Edison (1893) est un appareil dans lequel un court métrage est projeté en boucle ininterrompue et peut être visionné par une seule personne à travers l'ouverture de visionnement. Il ne s'agit pas d'une projection.
En Amérique, et plus tard en Europe, des salles ont été ouvertes avec des rangées de kinétoscopes.

Le musée possède un kinétoscope Edison en état de marche.

1895

7. Le Cinématographe Lumière

Le cinématographe était l'invention parfaite ; l'appareil était à peine plus grand qu'une caméra et pouvait aussi bien enregistrer que projeter. Les frères Lumière ont trouvé une solution parfaite pour l'avancement en douceur du film, à savoir un triangle arrondi qui sert d'axe central sur lequel reposent les pinces qui tirent le film une hauteur d'image à la fois. Sur cet axe central se trouve également le disque obturateur qui protège la fenêtre d'enregistrement pendant le déplacement de la pellicule. Les Lumières ont enregistré à une cadence de 16 images par seconde. Au fur et à mesure que l'on progresse dans le temps, l'enregistrement plus rapide passe de 18 images à 24 images par seconde. Avec le film sonore analogique, la vitesse est fixée à 24 images par seconde. Avec le film numérique, la vitesse d'enregistrement n'est plus fixe.
Le Wunderkammer contient une réplique exacte avec un mécanisme qui montre l'opération en détail.

les années 50

8. Projecteur Bauer 35 mm

Le Bauer B11, qui date des années 1950, est la Rolls Royce des projecteurs. Il s'agit du plus ancien projecteur en service au CINEMATEK. Il est toujours utilisé pour la projection de films dans la salle du Plateau. Il n'y a que des ajustements concernant le son.

20e siècle

9. Cameflex 35 mm

 ©Bea Borgers

Avec cette Cameflex, Freddy Rents a filmé le film "Déjà s'envole la fleur maigre" de Paul Meyer. Le film a été restauré par CINEMATEK et sorti en DVD. La caméra a été donnée à CINEMATEK par Marc Rents. La boucle est bouclée.

CINEMATEK accepte les dons de projecteurs et de caméras pour sa collection.



Envie de découvrir plus sur d'histoire du cinéma?

Alors réservez une visite guidée dans notre Wunderkammer pour votre famille, votre groupe d'amis ou votre école.


Accès au Collections Objets

Menez-vous une enquête archéologique médiatique? Commencer ici.

Cinematek Website 1

Accès au Collections Objets

Vous souhaitez prêter un de nos objets pour une exposition ? Commencer ici.

Cinematek Website 38

Accès au Collections Objets

Vous avez un ou plusieurs objets que vous souhaiteriez nous offrir ? Commencer ici.

Cinematek website 168