facebook instagram twitter
X

Votre don fait vivre le cinéma !
Uw gift brengt film tot leven!

SILENT FILMS

THE OYSTER PRINCESS

Ernst Lubitsch, 1919 Music by Peter Vermeersch & Flat Earth Society
price 15 €

In 2005 Peter Vermeersch composed his score for the film classic Die Austernprinzessin (The Oyster Princess, 1919) by Ernst Lubitsch. The live performances assisted by the musicians of the Flat Earth Society were extremely successful, resulting in a large number of live music screenings and in this DVD edition. Twelfth Grand Prix of Brasschaet 1932 (Jules Van Volxem) is a short documentary film about a well-known cycling race for which Peter Vermeersch wrote a score in 1998.

Oyster king Quaker has everything in life that can be bought. He is a perfectly satisfied parvenu. This is not the case for his daughter Ossi who urgently wants a husband - a prince at the very least. Matchmaker Seligson brings her into contact with pennyless prince Nucki, a notorious boozer and party animal. Nucki orders his personal lackee Jozef to investigate the marriage proposal. By doing so he turns the enterprise into chaos. Sparkling Lubitsch satire on American bourgeois life at the beginning of the previous century, set to music by Peter Vermeersch and the Flat Earth Society.

Director Ernst Lubitsch | Scenario: Hanns Kräly & Ernst Lubitsch | Sets: Rochus Gliese & Kurt Richter | Photography: Theodor Sparkuhl | Technical director: Kurt Waschneck

Cast Victor Janson | Ossi Oswalda | Harry Liedtke | Julius Falkenstein | Max Kronert | Kurt Bois

Ernst Lubitsch and The Oyster Princess

It is mainly the films from the last ten years of Ernst Lubitsch’s career that have established his reputation with film enthusiasts. There is Ninotchka, in which Greta Garbo is revealed to be an excellent comedienne, Heaven Can Wait, in which satire is tempered by nostalgia. Or The Shop Around the Corner, a favourite both in Europe and the United States, even more since its re-release two decades ago, and To Be or Not To Be, which is now his most famous film but which, at the time, was controversial and made a loss.

It was an invitation from Mary Pickford that took the Berlin director to the USA in 1922. The reason for this was the international success of the lavish historical drama Madame Dubarry, a success that once remodelled American style failed to be repeated. His collaboration with Pickford was a flop and his later ‘serious’ films also failed to be a success.

Then Warner, at the time still a relatively small studio, offered Lubitsch a four-year contract. This was the real beginning of his American career with five animated comedies of manners, known as The Marriage circle, a successful beginning both commercially and critically. The introduction of talkies proved to be no obstacle and Ernst Lubitsch developed a very solid career abroad that ended with his biggest successes.

Lubitsch had started in 1911 as an actor with one of Max Reinhardt’s Berlin theatre companies, which undoubtedly stimulated his acute awareness of scenery, light, movement and imagination, all of which he would later use to escape the heavy naturalism that dominated the German scene. Meanwhile, the up to then rather formless German cinema began to take shape with adaptations such as Der Andere and Der Student von Prag. Cinemas now no longer had to rely on imported films. In the same period – 1913 – Lubitsch the actor makes the successful transition to comic film. A short time later he directs a series of short films. In his first ‘three-reeler’, Schuhpalast Pinkus, that in more than one scene proves to be an early version of The Shop Around the Corner, he adds a dose of sexual innuendo to the generally cynical, burlesque tone, which soon becomes his hallmark. While Lubitsch the actor’s silly faces tend to remind us of the past, the direction here already suggests that he is becoming one of the best German directors of this period.

Die Austernprinzessin
from 1919, is – also according to Lubitsch’s own later assessment – one of his best three German comedies. The story of an American oyster king who wants to marry off his daughter is very clearly a satire of the nouveau riche. The storyline is flimsy enough to draw attention to operetta sets and ditto costumes, to risqué caricatures and sophisticated staging. Neither the brand new husband nor the father need be ashamed of looking through keyholes because, in this world, authority is only a pretext for ignoring moral principles and satisfying one’s own desires. This burlesque world is portrayed as a feast of rhythm and orchestration, with one brilliant scene after another. A party of drunken revellers staggers towards us, systematically ending up, one merry-maker after the other, on park benches positioned to the left and right. While the oyster princess is washed, powdered and massaged by dozens of servants, we dance to the rhythm of the rosette on the floor. And what is a wedding other than an opportunity to have three hundred waiters from the best Berlin restaurants carry out a perfectly timed choreography for waiters?

Die Austernprinzessin must be both a blessing and a curse for whoever has to compose the accompanying music: everything already is music.

Peter Rotsaert

Feature film 64'
Documentary Twelfth Grand Prix of Brasschaet 1932 (Jules Van Volxem, 12') with music by Peter Vermeersch

Language German
Subtitles English, Dutch, French
Format 3:4
Frame 1:37
Régional code PAL (region free)

dvd cover
The Oyster Princess15 €
dvd image
dvd image
dvd image
dvd image
dvd image
dvd image
dvd image
dvd image

facebook instagram twitter
X

Votre don fait vivre le cinéma !
Uw gift brengt film tot leven!

CINÉMA MUET

DIE AUSTERNPRINZESSIN

(La princesse aux huîtres) Ernst Lubitsch, 1919 Avec musique de Peter Vermeersch & de la Flat Earth Society
prix 15 €

En 2005, Peter Vermeersch composa sa propre partition pour ce film classique d'Ernst Lubitsch, Die Austernprinzessin (La princesse aux huîtres, 1919), à la demande du Festival International du Film Flandre-Gand. L'exécution par les musiciens de la Flat Earth Society était un grand succès, ce qui occasionna une série de représentations live en Belgique et à l'étranger, ainsi que cette édition DVD, en collaboration avec la Cinémathèque royale. Comme bonus au film de Lubitsch, vous trouverez le court reportage cycliste Douzième grand prix de Brasschaat 1932 (Jules Van Volxem) pour lequel Peter Vermeersch composa également sa propre musique en 1998.

Quaker, un magnat de l'huître, a obtenu dans la vie tout ce qui peut s'acheter avec de l'argent. C'est un parvenu satisfait. Sa fille Ossi ne l'est pas. Elle veut un mari, le plus vite possible, et au moins un prince. Par l'intermédiaire de Seligson, un agent matrimonial, le choix se porte sur Nucki, un prince tombé bien bas, buveur notoire, pique-assiette et noceur. Nucki demande à son domestique d'examiner la proposition de mariage et chamboule ainsi indirectement toute l'entreprise. Une satire pétillante de Lubitsch sur la bourgeoisie américaine du début du siècle passé, sur une musique de Peter Vermeersch et de la Flat Earth Society.

Régie Ernst Lubitsch | Scénario : Hanns Kräly & Ernst Lubitsch | Décors : Rochus Gliese & Kurt Richter | Photographie : Theodor Sparkuhl | Directeur technique : Kurt Waschneck

Distribution Victor Janson | Ossi Oswalda | Harry Liedtke | Julius Falkenstein | Max Kronert | Kurt Bois

Ernst Lubitsch et La princesse aux huîtres

Ce sont principalement les films de la dernière décennie de la carrière d'Ernst Lubitsch qui soutiennent sa réputation auprès des cinéphiles. Ninotchka est un incontournable, avec une performance mémorable de Greta Garbo, ou encore Le ciel peut attendre, où la satire est tempérée par une pointe de nostalgie. Rendez-vous était unanimement apprécie aussi bien en Europe qu’aux Etats-Unis, et sa réputation s’est encore renforcée depuis sa ressortie il y a quelques vingt ans. Jeux dangereux, à l'époque controversé et déficitaire, est sans doute aujourd'hui le plus connu de ses films.

L'aventure américaine de Lubitsch débute en 1922, quand Mary Pickford invite le réalisateur berlinois aux Etats-Unis, à la suite du succès international du grand drame historique Mme Dubarry, succès qui ne fut pas égalé par son adaptation américaine. La collaboration avec Mary Pickford échoua, et d'autres films dans le genre 'sérieux' ne connurent que peu de réussite. Apparut alors la Warner, petit studio à l'époque qui n'hésita pas à offrir un contrat de quatre ans au réalisateur. Ce fut le vrai début du parcours américain de Lubitsch, marqué par cinq comédies de mœurs corsées, connues sous le nom de Comédiennes. Un début réussi du point de vue commercial et critique. L'avènement du cinéma sonore ne semble pas avoir perturbé Lubitsch, qui poursuivit sa carrière outre-atlantique avec de nombreux succès.

Lubitsch avait débuté comme acteur en 1911 dans une des troupes de théâtre berlinoises de Max Reinhardt, ce qui a certainement stimulé sa sensibilité pour le décor, la lumière, le mouvement et la fantaisie – tous les moyens qu'il utilisera plus tard pour échapper au naturalisme lourd qui domina la scène allemande. Entre-temps, le cinéma allemand quelque peu amorphe jusque-là prend corps avec des adaptations comme Der Andere et L'étudiant de Prague. A la même époque – nous sommes en 1913 – l'acteur Lubitsch passe avec bonheur du théâtre au cinéma comique. Peu après, il réalise une série de courts métrages. Dans son premier film à trois bobines – Pinkus – qui, dans plus d'une scène, semble être une version primitive de Rendez-vous, il ajoute une dose d'érotisme sous-jacent au ton généralement cynique et burlesque, ce qui deviendra très vite sa signature. Si les grimaces de l'acteur Lubitsch renvoient plutôt à une esthétique plus ancienne, la mise en scène montre déjà qu'il est en train de devenir le meilleur réalisateur allemand de cette période.

La princesse aux huîtres de 1919 est – aussi selon l'estimation postérieure de Lubitsch – une de ses trois meilleures comédies allemandes. L'histoire d'un roi de l'huître américain qui cherche à marier sa fille est très clairement une satire des nouveaux riches. Caricature grossière servie par une mise en scène raffinée, l'histoire est suffisamment simple que pour en apprécier les décors et les costumes d'opérette. Ni le jeune marié, ni le père doivent se gêner de regarder par les trous de serrure, car dans cet univers, l'autorité est uniquement un prétexte – en dehors de toute morale – pour chercher à satisfaire ses propres désirs. Ce monde burlesque est mis en scène comme une fête rythmée et orchestrée avec minutie, alternant les scènes éclatantes. Les personnages d'une assemblée saoule titubent vers le spectateur et vont s'échouer l'un après l'autre et de façon symétrique, à gauche et à droite, sur les bancs d'un parc. Pendant que la princesse aux huîtres est lavée, poudrée et massée par des dizaines de femmes de chambre, nous dansons sur la rosette qui décore le marbre du sol. Et qu'est-ce qu'un mariage, sinon une occasion rêvée pour faire exécuter une chorégraphie parfaitement chronométrée par trois cents serveurs des meilleurs restaurants berlinois?

La princesse aux huîtres est tout à la fois une bénédiction et un véritable calvaire pour un compositeur : tout est déjà musique.

Peter Rotsaert

Long métrage 64'
Documentaire Douzième Grand Prix Brasschaet 1932 (Jules van Volxem, 12') avec musique de Peter Vermeersch

Langue allemand
Sous-titres français, néerlandais, anglais
Format 3:4
Cadre 1:37
Code régional PAL (region free)

dvd cover
Die Austernprinzessin15 €
dvd image
dvd image
dvd image
dvd image
dvd image
dvd image
dvd image
dvd image