The Lesbian Gaze

Is it feasible to elaborate on the "lesbian gaze" as a concept? How can we imagine a lesbian gaze without placing lesbian film-makers in an essentialist box, but instead by looking at how films that depict lesbian loves advance the cinematic form? This lecture will analyse how filmmakers who have bypassed the male gaze in creating female characters have renewed the art of film.

Get also your tickets for the film projection after this talk at 20:30.

Iris Brey is a critic, academic and journalist, specializing in the representation of gender in cinema and television series. She is the author of Le regard féminin : Une révolution à l'écran (2020) and Sex and the Series. Female Sexualities, a Television Revolution (2016).

Conference organized within the framework of the Lesbiennale (8-10 October 2021 /lesbiennale.art). EL*C’s inaugural lesbian arts festival focuses on lesbian productions in the arts, culture and politics. The Lesbiennale is a way to escape, distract, celebrate, engage, support, and honour lesbian, bi, queer and trans artists.

In collaboration with the Lesbiennale and Elles Tournent/Dames Draaien

DAMNED MAIN

Our Story Sept-Nov 2021 /

The Lesbian Gaze

Serait-il envisageable de conceptualiser un « lesbian gaze »? Comment pourrait-on appréhender un regard lesbien sans essentialiser les cinéastes lesbiennes à une catégorie mais au contraire voir comment les films qui mettent en scène des amours lesbiens font avancer la forme filmique? Cette conférence sera l'occasion d'analyser comment les cinéastes qui ont créé des personnages féminins pouvant se passer du regard des hommes ont innové cinématographiquement.

Achetez aussi vos places pour la projection qui suit la conférence à 20h30

Iris Brey est critique, universitaire et journaliste, spécialiste de la représentation du genre au cinéma et dans les séries télévisées. Elle est l'autrice de Le regard féminin : Une révolution à l'écran (2020) et Sex and the Series. Sexualités féminines, une révolution télévisuelle (2016).

Conférence organisée dans le cadre de la Lesbiennale (8-10 octobre 2021/lesbiennale.art). Organisée par EL*C - Eurocentralasian Lesbian* Community, la Lesbiennale est un festival hybride international et interdisciplinaire dédié aux productions artistiques et aux réflexions culturelles mettant en avant les lesbiennes et femmes trans, bi et queers. Conférence en anglais
En collaboration avec la Lesbiennale & Elles Tournent

DAMNED MAIN