facebook instagram twitter
X

Votre don fait vivre le cinéma !
Uw gift brengt film tot leven!

NEW RELEASES

RAOUL SERVAIS

Short Films
price 21 €

This edition comprises 14 short films by Raoul Servais, otherwise known as the magician of Ostend. Servais enjoys an international reputation as a pioneer of the animation film in Belgium, the founder of the first animation film training in Europe and the first Belgian winner of the Palme d'Or at Cannes for an animation film. His work is characterised by an unremitting search for new forms and techniques. In a new documentary Rudy Pinceel paints a poetic portrait of Raoul Servais and follows him for three years up to the opening of a permanent room dedicated to his work at Mu.ZEE, the museum of Belgian art in Ostend.

DVD 2

Harbour Lights (1960)

In a coastal village a faulty street lantern lands on the rubbish yard. During a storm a fishermen's boat is in trouble. The big lighthouse has fallen asleep, but the street lantern saves the boat.

November Diversion (1962)

On a November day a man deposits a flower garland for his old car at the junkyard. But the place appears to be a labyrinth in which he gets lost.

The False Note (1963)

A little beggar tries in vain to get an alms in a big city where everything is organised, efficient and lucrative. His barrel organ's tune always ends with an impressive false note, upsetting the townspeople. Eventually the little beggar will receive a dream fulfilling gift.

Chromophobia (1965)

The grey legions invade the world of colour to establish their colourless dominance. Resistance appears in the shape of a scarlet jester, who restores the reign of colour using his chromatic trickery.

Sirene (1968)

Monsterlike cranes reign over an inhospitable harbour as prehistorical reptiles. The only human being they accept is a lonesome fisherman. He is to witness a strange encounter between a ship's mate and a mermaid. Imagination or reality?

Goldframe (1969)

Jason Goldframe, a film producer, is always the best and the first! It's his ambition to be the very first to achieve the inconceivable: making a 270mm film. Obsessed as he is, he even wants to be faster than his shadow. One evening he succeeds.

To speak or not to speak (1970)

When the average man in the street is asked what he thinks of the political situation, there's not much to be learned. Only a dropout is willing to give a truly personal opinion.

Operation X-70 (1971)

A mighty state is experimenting with a new nerve gas that doesn't kill, but numbs people. By accident some of the gas is dropped on a peaceful country 'Nebelux', where suddenly strange mutations appear.

Pegasus (1973)

An old blacksmith is now too old to adapt to the changing technological society. Frustrated, he creates his own universe in which he eventually also becomes obsolete.

Halewyn's Song (1976)

Sir Halewyn's magical song lures girls from afar to his gloomy forest, from where no-one ever returned. Based on a medieval song. This commissioned film was executed in cut-out animation.

Harpya (1979)

During his evening walk Mister Oscar witnesses an assault. He is very surprised to see that it is the work of a genuine harpy. He wants to find out more, which is not without danger.

Nocturnal Butterflies (1998)

A beautiful moth leads us towards the waiting room of an abandoned railway station. Suddenly a surreal situation comes to life. Inspired by the work of the Belgian surrealist painter Paul Delvaux. Nocturnal Butterflies is the only film that was entirely made in the 'Servaisgraphy' technique.

Atraksion (2001)

A couple of downcast prison inmates work their way through the most desperate of landscapes. One of them ventures to look up towards a shining light. Is that their deliverance? He decides to go for it.

Tank (2015)

On the 15th of September 1916 during the Battle of the Somme the British army for the first time in history used tanks in order to force a breakthrough in the trench war. The use of this new weapon was a hellish experience, both for the defending soldiers in the trenches and the crew inside the tank. For Otto in the trench and Johny in the tank, this proves a turning point.

DVD 2

SERVAIS (2018)

The documentary SERVAIS tells the story of living film legend Raoul Servais on his way to an appointment with history. At the end of June 2018, the art museum Mu.ZEE in Ostend - whose collection includes many works by Ensor and Spilliaert - devoted two permanent exhibition rooms to Servais on his 90th birthday. The documentary traces the three years prior to this moment. Starting in October 2015, it follows the daily life of the internationally renowned animated film director, who continues to push the boundaries with contagious enthusiasm every single day. SERVAIS is not an archive film. It is a fascinating portrait of an aged artist that keeps challenging himself with a youthful flexibility and inspires others beyond measure.

dvd cover
Raoul Servais21 €
dvd image
Havenlichten (1960)
dvd image
Omleiding november (1962)
dvd image
Chromophobia (1965)
dvd image
Sirene (1968)
dvd image
Goldframe (1969)
dvd image
Operation X-70 (1971)
dvd image
Het lied van Halewijn (1976)
dvd image
Harpya (1979)
dvd image
Nachtvlinders - Papillons de nuit (1998)
dvd image
Atraksion (2001)
dvd image
Tank (2015)

facebook instagram twitter
X

Votre don fait vivre le cinéma !
Uw gift brengt film tot leven!

NOUVELLES SORTIES

RAOUL SERVAIS

Courts-métrages
prix 21 €

Cette édition réunit 14 courts-métrages de Raoul Servais, autrement connu comme le magicien d'Ostende. Pionnier du cinéma d'animation en Belgique, fondateur du premier département d'animation en Europe et première Palme d'Or belge pour un film d'animation, Raoul Servais jouit d'une renommée internationale. Son œuvre est marquée par une recherche constante de formes nouvelles et de techniques innovatrices. Le nouveau documentaire de Rudy Pinceel dresse un portrait poétique de Raoul Servais et le suit durant trois années jusqu'à l'inauguration d'une salle de musée permanente dédiée à son œuvre à Mu.ZEE (Ostende).

DVD 1

Les lumières du port (1960)

Dans un petit village de pêcheurs un réverbère courbaturé a été jeté sur un dépôt d'immondices. Un bateau de pêche, en détresse lors d'une forte tempête, ne trouve plus son port d'attache, car le vieux phare s'est endormi. Heureusement le réverbère se charge de le remplacer.

Déviation novembre (1962)

Film en vues réelles, sans animation. Un 11 novembre, un homme va déposer une couronne sur sa vieille voiture qui repose dans un cimetière de voitures. Celui-ci semble être un labyrinthe dans lequel l'homme se perdra.

La fausse note (1963)

Un petit mendiant essaie, en vain, de récolter une aumône dans la grande ville où tout est ordonné en fonction de la publicité, du rendement et du profit. La complainte qu'égrène son petit orgue de barbarie s'achève toujours sur une fausse note impressionnante, qui ne cesse de provoquer la colère des citadins. Le mendiant pourra enfin recueillir une aumône très particulière qui lui permettra de réaliser le rêve de sa vie.

Chromophobia (1965)

Les légions grises envahissent le monde de la couleur avec l'intention d'imposer la domination totale du noir-gris-blanc. La résistance se manifestera sous la forme d'un bouffon écarlate, Thyl Ulenspiegel de la légende flamande, qui, par ses ruses chromatiques, provoquera le retour de la couleur.

Sirene (1968)

Des grues géantes et des reptiles ailés du Jurassique règnent en maîtres sur un étrange port de commerce. Seul un pêcheur à la ligne y est toléré. Il sera témoin d'une étrange idylle entre un mousse et une sirène. Rêve ou réalité ?

Goldframe (1969)

Jason Goldframe, le grand producteur de films hollywoodiens, fut, en toutes circonstances, le meilleur et, surtout, le premier. Il veut également l'être en produisant le premier film en format 270 mm ! Conditionné par son esprit compétitif, il en devient obsédé au point de vouloir dépasser en vitesse sa propre ombre. Un certain soir, il y parviendra.

To speak or not to speak (1970)

L'homme de la rue se voit interviewé afin d'exprimer son opinion sur la situation politique. Il donne des réponses évasives, banales et incohérentes qui se retrouvent dans des textes apparaissant dans des « bulles ». Un personnage marginal, une sorte de hippie, osera, en revanche, formuler une opinion coloriée qui fera preuve de caractère.

Operation X-70 (1971)

Une puissante nation expérimente un nouveau gaz qui ne tue ni ne blesse le sujet asphyxié, mais le transporte dans un état léthargique et mystique. Des bombes de gaz X-70 seront larguées par erreur sur le Nebelux et provoqueront une mutation imprévue auprès de la population de ce charmant petit pays.

Pegasus (1973)

Un vieux maréchal-ferrant privé de travail est trop âgé pour être recyclé dans la société technologique. Sa frustration se traduira par une absurde sublimation du cheval, ce qui lui fera créer un univers hallucinant dans lequel il restera toutefois aussi solitaire et inutile qu'auparavant.

Le chant de Halewyn (1976)

Ce film fut un épisode de la série pour télévision « Légendes d'Europe ». Le chant magique du Sire Halewyn attire les jeunes filles des campagnes vers une sombre forêt dont elles ne reviennent jamais. Adaptation d'un chant médiéval.

Harpya (1979)

Au cours d'une promenade nocturne, Monsieur Oscar est témoin d'une agression et découvre, à sa grande stupéfaction, qu'il vient de porter secours à une authentique harpie. L'intérêt qu'il lui porte n'est pas sans danger !

Papillons de nuit (1998)

Un papillon de nuit nous mène dans la salle d'attente d'une gare de banlieue. Nous y trouverons des personnages figés qui, durant quelques minutes, reprendront vie, jusqu'au moment où arrivera le train du soir avec son unique voyageur. Hommage à Paul Delvaux.

Atraksion (2001)

Des bagnards errent sans but dans un paysage de désolation. L'un d'eux tourne son regard vers une lumière aveuglante et tente d'accéder vers elle. Serait-ce la délivrance ?

Tank (2015)

Durant la Bataille de la Somme le 15 septembre 1916 l'armée britannique a lancé pour la première fois dans l'histoire des chars d'assaut pour tenter de réaliser une percée dans la guerre des tranchées. L'utilisation de cette arme nouvelle représentait aussi bien pour les défenseurs des tranchées que pour les équipages de ces engins blindés une confrontation infernale. Le soldat Otto dans sa tranchée et Johny dans son tank verront ainsi disparaître toutes leurs préoccupations sentimentales.

 

DVD 2

SERVAIS (2018)

Le documentaire SERVAIS suit Raoul Servais, légende du cinéma, alors qu'il a rendez-vous avec l'Histoire. Fin juin 2018, le Mu.ZEE à Ostende, marqué par l'empreinte d'Ensor et Spilliaert, a réservé deux salles d'exposition permanente à Servais, pour son 90e anniversaire. Le documentaire retrace les trois années précédant cet accomplissement. Depuis octobre 2015, le film documente la vie quotidienne du réalisateur de films d'animation de renommée internationale, qui continue à repousser chaque jour ses propres limites avec une énergie contagieuse. Plus qu'un film d'archives, SERVAIS est le portrait fascinant d'un artiste dans la force de l'âge qui continue à se lancer des défis avec la souplesse de la jeunesse et qui est une source d'inspiration sans limites pour les autres.

dvd cover
Raoul Servais21 €
dvd image
Havenlichten (1960)
dvd image
Omleiding november (1962)
dvd image
Chromophobia (1965)
dvd image
Sirene (1968)
dvd image
Goldframe (1969)
dvd image
Operation X-70 (1971)
dvd image
Het lied van Halewijn (1976)
dvd image
Harpya (1979)
dvd image
Nachtvlinders - Papillons de nuit (1998)
dvd image
Atraksion (2001)
dvd image
Tank (2015)